.

Are You Aware of New Maryland Transportation Laws?

New transportation laws will take effect Oct. 1.

In her newsletter to constituents, Delegate Susan Krebs reminds Carroll County residents that as of Oct. 1, laws passed during the 2012 session of the Maryland General Assembly will go into effect. 

Here's a rundown of the transportation laws going into effect. 

Nonfunctioning Traffic Control Signals - Requirement to Stop (HB 67)

This law requires drivers to stop at any intersection where there is a nonfunctioning traffic light. Additionally, drivers must yield to any pedestrians or vehicles within the intersection.

You can read the law by clicking here on this link. You can access the original bill's summary page by clicking here on this link.

Moped and Motor Scooters - Titling, Insurance, and Required Use of Protective Headgear (HB 149)

This law adds mopeds and motor scooters to the current laws pertaining to motor vehicles and motorcycles. The law also requires operators of mopeds or motor scooters to wear a helmet.

You can read the law by clicking here on this link. You can access the original bill's summary page by clicking here on this link.

Provisional Driver's Licenses - Driver Education Requirements (HB 292)

This law reduces the time that an individual over 25 has to wait before taking a provisional driver's license exam. Additionally, the law lowers the amount of supervised driving time that an individual over 25 needs to complete before obtaining his or her driver's license.

You can read the law by clicking here on this link. You can access the original bill's summary page by clicking here on this link.

Motor Vehicles - Child Safety Seats - Requirements (HB 313)

This law repeals the exception for a child under the age of 8 and weighing over 65 pounds from having to sit in a child seat. However, the exception for a child under the age of 8 and over 4-foot-9 in height is still in place.

You can read the law by clicking here on this link. You can access the original bill's summary page by clicking here on this link.

Life-threatening Injury by Motor Vehicle or Vessel while Impaired by a Controlled Dangerous Substance - Penalty (Ava's Law) (HB 1334)

This law increases the maximum imprisonment from 2 to 3 years and the maximum fine from $3,000 to $5,000 for causing life-threatening injury as a result of negligently driving, operating, or controlling a motor vehicle or vessel while impaired by a controlled dangerous substance.

You can read the law by clicking here on this link. You can access the original bill's summary page by clicking here on this link.

Identification Cards and Drivers' Licenses - Period of Validity (SB 111)

This law increases driver license cards validity from 5 years to 8 years.

You can read the law by clicking here on this link.  You can access the original bill's summary page by clicking here on this link.

This information was taken from correspondence sent by Delegate Krebs. 

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »